Mark your calendars!!


WEA Chinook Calendar of Meetings

NOTE:  We are still working on calendar for other events/trainings.  Keep checking back.


October 2017

Tuesday, October 17th - PEAC Mtg

Thursday, October 19th - Council Mtg

Fri (evening), October 27th - Sat, October 28th - ESP Conference


November 2017

Tuesday, Nov 7th - Executive Board Mtg

Wednesday, Nov 8th - Treasurer's Training (Time:  TBD)

Friday, Nov 10th -- WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Veteran's Day holiday)

Thursday, Nov 23rd & Frid, Nov 24th - WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Thanksgiving holiday)


December 2017

Friday, Dec 1st - Sat, Dec 2nd - WEA Bargaining Conference (DoubleTree Hotel Seattle Airport)

Thursday, Dec 7th - Local Presidents' Mtg (9a-3p)

Thursday, Dec 14th - Executive Board Mtg & Holiday Dinner (noon-5p)


January 2018

Thursday, Jan 11th - Council Mtg

Monday, Jan 15th - WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Martin Luther King Jr. holiday)


February 2018

Thursday, Feb 1st - Executive Board Meeting

Monday, Feb 19th - WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Presidents' Day holiday)

Thursday, Feb 22nd - Local Presidents' Meeting (9a-3p)


March 2018

Thursday, Mar 1st - Executive Board Meeting

Tuesday, Mar 13th - Council Meeting


April 2018

Tuesday, Apr 10th - Mock RA

Thursday, Apr 19-21 - WEA Representative Assembly (Spokane)

Monday, Apr 30th - Local Presidents' Meeting (9a-3p)


May 2018

Thursday, May 3rd - Executive Board Meeting

Thursday, May 24th - Council Meeting

Monday, May 28th - WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Memorial Day holiday)


June 2018

June 30th - NEA Representative Assembly (Minneapolis, MN)


July 2018

July 2nd - July 5th - NEA Representative Assembly (Minneapolis, MN)

July 2nd - July 6th - WEA CHINOOK OFFICE CLOSED (Independence Day holiday)




All meetings/events will begin with dinner at 4:30pm.
The actual mtg/event will start at 5:00pm
unless specified differently.

All meetings are held at the WEA Chinook office in Tumwater.


NOTE:  An RSVP is required for meetings/events so that we have enough food & materials for everyone.
Contact WEA Chinook (360.943.1776 or 800.244.0147)
or email This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .

WEA Chinook's 2017-18 Local Engagement Grant
To provide resources to create deeper involvement in your local and WEA.  New members are of special interest, but any proposal that develops a broader base of support and better connects members with WEA and/or the local will be considered.  Proposals should focus on activities that reach members who are not customarily engaged in union activities.  This grant is intended to be very flexible in its application.


WEA Representative Assembly Grant

To provide financial assistance to local associations which wish to send a delegate or an additional delegate to the Representative Assembly and are currently unable to do so. To access the form & criteria, click on the heading.


Community Outreach Grant

Do you have a great idea/project to connect school & community but no $$ for funding?  Help members build connections with people external to their school/classroom, grade level, department, building or district.  Click on the heading to access the grant form to submit.


Warren G. Magnuson Educational Support Professional Scholarship

This scholarship is designed to assist WEA ESP (active members) in their pursuit of certification in the teaching profession.  Five scholarship grants of $1,500 each are available.  Two of the five grants is designated for a minority ESP member.  Your application must be postmarked no later than June 16, 2017. If you have any questions please email Jill Dahlen at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. .











Membership: 6,000

  • Aberdeen EA - President, Erik Peterson
  • Centralia EA - Co-Pres, Kerri Kite-Pocklington & Co-Pres, Lauri Johnson
  • Chehalis EA - President, Lynn Wakefield-Rickard
  • Cosmopolis EA - President, Debbie Wilson
  • Eatonville EA - Co-Pres, Paulette Van Cleve & Co-Pres, Michael Sniezak
  • Elma Classified Office Personnel - President, Julie Zwarun
  • Elma Teachers' Organization- President, Barb Snyder
  • Elma Educational Support Professionals - Co-Pres, Edwin Burgess & Co-Pres, Dave Howard
  • Griffin EA - President, Johanna Dowler
  • Hoquiam Teachers Association - President, Laurie Gordon
  • McCleary EA - Co-President, Mandy Biggs & Co-President, Karen Teague
  • McCleary ESP - Co-President, Shawna Sturges & Co-President, Debra Menzel
  • Montesano EA - Co-Pres, Tina Niels & Co-Pres, Justin Raines
  • Morton EA - President, Amanda West
  • Mossyrock EA - Co-Pres, Jodi Pitts & Co-Pres, Heather Davis
  • North Beach EA - Co-Pres, Alison Cline & Co-Pres, William Oaks
  • North River EA - President, Sean Pierson
  • North River ESP - President, Sue Coulter
  • NThurston EA- President, Ray Nelson
  • NThurston Paraeducators Association - Co-Pres, Janice Kennish & Co-Pres, Lori Huston
  • NThurston Interpreters - President, Nicole Hanner
  • NThurston Assoc of Office & Technical Employees - Co-President, Kristi Ashmore & Co-President, Zoanne Alexander
  • NThurston Assoc of Information & Technology Professionals - President, Chad Hanway
  • Oakville EA - President, Phil Spengler
  • Ocosta EA - President, Jackie George
  • Olympia EA - President, Adam Brickell
  • Olympia ParaEducators Association - Co-Pres, Denise Pigue and Co-Pres, Cynthia Davidson
  • Olympia Education Administrative Professionals Assoc - President, Mimi Sprague
  • Olympia Technical Professional Admin Assoc - Co-Pres, Julie Voorhees & Co-Pres, Tanya Lasmanis
  • Quinault EA - President, Erica Waggoner
  • Rainier EA - President, Angie Karnes
  • Raymond EA - President, Lisa Demontigny
  • Rochester EA - President, Michelle Fayette
  • Rochester ESP - President, Ivy Moody
  • Shelton EA - President, Ron Goodale
  • Shelton ESP - President, Sheila Iverson
  • Shelton Educational Office Personnel - President, Jamie Dobson
  • South Bend EA - President, Mike Lee
  • Taholah EA - President, Roxanna Ogemahgeshig
  • Tenino EA - President, Robert Bates
  • Toledo EA - President, Tracie Cannon
  • Tumwater EA- President, Tim Voie
  • Tumwater Assoc of Paraprofessionals - Co-President, Sherry Taylor & Co-President, Sherrie Degraw
  • Tumwater Office Personnel - President, Heather Alnes
  • White Pass EA - President, Beth Coleman
  • Willapa Valley EA - President, Ann Taylor
  • Wishkah Valley EA - President, Don Richardson
  • Yelm EA - President, Nicole Rutledge